banner USF Home College of Arts & Sciences OASIS myUSF USF A-Z Index

USF Home > College of Arts and Sciences > Chemistry Department

23rd Annual Scholarship & Alumni Celebration

The year's event was held on April 13, 2010, at the Gibbons Alumni Center in Traditions Hall. Dr. Randy Larsen, Chair of the Department of Chemistry, presided over the ceremony. One hundred twenty-six guests helped twenty-nine award recipients and one hundred fifteen honor roll students (not all of who could attend) celebrate their accomplishments. Dr. Graham Tobin, Vice Provost for Strategic and Budget Planning, opened the evening with words of welcome and congratulations. Following dinner, Dr. Dean Martin, Distinguished University Professor Emeritus, introduced Dr. Joanna Fowler, the 2010 Outstanding Alumna. View the Awards Program

Dr. Joanna Fowler   Dr. Fowler earned her B.A. in Chemistry from USF in 1964. In her presentation, Dr. Fowler discussed her research on indentifying the chemical processes in the human brain associated with addiction. She is currently a Senior Scientist at U.S. Department of Energy’s Brookhaven National Laboratory serving as the Director of Radiotracer Chemistry, Instrumentation and Biological Imaging. Her research interests include organic synthesis and neurochemistry, radiotracer synthesis with positron emitters, mechanistic studies relating to the development of radiotracers for positron emission tomography (PET), translational applications of radiotracers to problems in neuroscience and PET studies of neurotransmitter activity, enzyme activity and drug mechanisms. In April 2009, Dr. Fowler was awarded the National Academy of Sciences Award in Chemical Studies. On October 7, 2009, Dr. Fowler was presented with the National Medal of Science by President Barack Obama.

Click on the image below to start the slideshow...